Welcome to Ozark Writer

Welcome to my blog. This is a place where I can and will write about all kinds of things. I am not famous or noteworthy on the web and I don’t have a lot of followers on social media but I feel I have things to share and this is where I will share them.

Some of things I will talk about here are:

Movies – I love movies and have an extensive collection of DVD’s and BluRays to show for it. I really enjoy seeing films at the theater but since the nearest cinema is an hour drive one-way, I don’t get there as often as I like.

TV – I am less of a fan of weekly television than I used to be because so many shows are serials and while I understand the economics behind that, too many do a poor job of it. If a show spends week after week just working through the main story arc it gets tedious to me. I much prefer a show that has a story for that week that ties into the arc but has a beginning, middle and end so it can stand alone. The other problem with serials is that they too often get cancelled before they get a chance to end the story arc. That is major frustrating and as a viewer I now have to decide each season whether a new series will last long enough to wrap the story. Add to that the annoying system on cables networks that has a series run 10 weeks and then you wait 40 weeks for the next season. That is like reading the first 10 chapters of a book and then putting it aside for a year and then picking up. Not my thing.

Technology – I am a geek and taught myself everything I know about computers and the like over the last 30 plus years. I am not as day to day a tech geek as I was when I was before I retired and building my own PC’s, but I still follow a lot of tech sites and will report and comment on things that I find interesting. I used to be a Windows person but once I bought my first iPad about 7 years ago I have slowly moved to Apple. I still have a Windows PC but use it rarely. I am really interested in the resurgence of space technology with the private sector getting involved like SpaceX and Blue Origin.

Life on the Farm – I will offer my experiences as a city girl who moved to a 27 acre farm in the Ozarks almost ten years ago. It is different with a lot of plusses but also a few minuses. I am happy with the move and would not want to go back to living in the city but there are some things I miss. Connectivity is a big one as we have no cell service and can only get internet via satellite which used to be terrible but recently was much improved.

Politics – Doesn’t everyone have opinions on politics? Certainly since the election in 2016 everyone does. I will not overload this blog with political posts but there are and will be things I feel I must comment on and will try to be objective which is something I don’t see a lot from either side right now.

Travel – Being retired gives us lots of time to travel and we do our fair share. We drive most of the time which gives us a chance to poke our noses into places that you miss flying. Our favorite kind of trip involves back roads and small towns where the interesting stuff is. The Interstate is nice and gets you there faster but is usually boring. Expect posts and pictures when we travel someplace interesting.

Whimsy – Life is full of moments and serendipity and when that happens I will write about. Hopefully it will make you smile or laugh or just make you wonder.

So that’s what you can expect here. I hope you will enjoy your visit here and if you like it feel free to tell your friends. I expect nothing from those who visit except courtesy and civility if you choose to leave a comment. Trolls are not welcome.

Leave a Reply

